Music Shopping Spotlight | Halsey & Many More

Halsey, hopeless fountain kingdom © AstralerksHalsey leads a star-studded cast of artists releasing new albums on June 2, 2017 that includes All Time Low, Bleachers, and others.  

June 2, 2017 is the date that every music lover should have circled on their calendars.  For whatever reason, every artist on the planet decided that the first Friday in June would be the best date to release their new album. Literally, there is something for everybody arriving on this date.  The biggest release arguably comes courtesy of Halsey with her sophomore album, hopeless fountain kingdom.  Still, the cupboard isn’t bare beyond the alternative superstar, with new albums from All Time Low, Bleachers, alt-J, Roger Waters, and Mali Music among others.

1. Halsey, hopeless fountain kingdom


In a big week for new music, Halsey leads the way with her sophomore album, hopeless fountain kingdom.  Halsey had a great run with her 2015 debut, Badlands, which debuted at no. 2 on the Billboard 200.  Hopeless fountain kingdom runs 16 songs deep in its deluxe version.  Three singles arrived prior to the album: “Now or Never,” “Eyes Closed,” and “Strangers.”  Hopeless fountain kingdom features three guests: Quavo (“Lie”), Lauren Jauregui (“Strangers”), and Cashmere Cat (“Hopeless”).

All Time Low, Last Young Renegade © Fueled By Ramen2. All Time Low, Last Young Renegade

Fueled by Ramen

All Time Low returns with its sixth studio album, Last Young RenegadeLast Young Renegade materializes two years after Future Hearts, which debuted at no. 1 on the Billboard 200.  10 songs deep, four songs were issued prior to Last Young Renegade: “Last Young Renegade,” “Dirty Laundry,” “Nice2KnoU,” and “Life of the Party.”  Tegan and Sara are the sole featured guests.

Bleachers, Gone Now © RCA3. Bleachers, Gone Now


Following a successful debut album (Strange Desire, 2014), Bleachers – aka Jack Antonoff – returns with his sophomore album, Gone NowStrange Desire spawned one of best songs of 2014, “I Wanna Get Better.” Gone Now is comprised of 12 tracks, with four songs arriving prior to its release: “Hate That You Know Me,” “Don’t Take the Money,” “Everybody Lost Somebody,” and “I Miss Those Days.”

Other New Releases:

alt-J, Relaxer; Roger Waters, Is This the Life We Really Want?; Mali Music, The Transition of Mali; Luke Combs, This One’s for You; Wheeler Walker Jr., Ol’ Wheeler; Dan Auerbach, Waiting on a Song; U2, The Joshua Tree (Super Deluxe); Dua Lipa, Dua Lipa; Steven Universe (Soundtrack, Vol. 1); Qveen Herby, Ep 1 – EP; Mt. Eddy, Chroma; Flogging Molly, Life Is Good; The Music of Nashville Original Soundtrack Season 5, Vol. 2; Dispatch, America, Location 12; Miss May I, Shadows Inside

NOTE: To see the full rundown of new music releases – those appearing in bold print under other new releases – check out the article on The Musical Hype, Music Shopping List | Halsey Returns With ‘hopeless fountain kingdom’, published on Monday, May 29, 2017.

Photo Credits: Astralwerks, Fueled by Ramen, RCA

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.