Music Shopping Spotlight: Mastodon, Bob Dylan & Jamiroquai

Mastodon, Emperor of Sand © RepriseMastodon (‘Emperor of Sand’), Bob Dylan (‘Triplicate’), and Jamiroquai (‘Automaton’) highlight new albums released on March 31, 2017.

The final new music release date in March 2017 turns out to be a busy one.  While there is a lack of surefire, blockbuster releases, everybody (and his brother) seems to be dropping their album at the tail-end of March.  The biggest release comes at the hands of metal band Mastodon, who return with Emperor of Sand.  That said, hard to give some promo love to the likes of Bob Dylan or the incredibly underrated return of Jamiroquai.

1. Mastodon, Emperor of Sand


 Metal collective Mastodon returns with Emperor of Sand, it’s first album in nearly three years (Once More ‘Round the Sun, June 2014).  Emperor of Sand marks the seventh studio album by the band, who have been releasing albums since 2002 debut, Remission.  Comprised of 11 tracks, three singles arrived prior to the album’s release: “Sultan’s Curse,” “Show Yourself,” and “Andromeda.”

Bob Dylan, Triplicate © Columbia2. Bob Dylan, Triplicate


Bob Dylan drops a new album this week, entitled Triplicate.  Interestingly, Dylan’s triple-disc project isn’t getting a lot of buzz.  Perhaps it’s because Dylan continues to cover standards – torch songs, for his third straight album.  Nonetheless, it’s amazing the 75-year old releases a 30-song project.  Singles “I Could Have Told You,” “My One and Only Love,” and “Stardust” were issued prior to Triplicate.

Jamiroquai, Automaton © Virgin3. Jamiroquai, Automaton


It has been seven years since British pop/R&B group Jamiroquai released a new album (Rock Dust Light Star, 2010)! Jamiroquai finally returns with Automaton, though the buzz is at a minimum for the veteran band.  Regardless of buzz, Automaton features 12 new tracks, with the energetic “Automaton” and “Cloud 9” arriving prior to the album’s release.

Additional New Releases: MercyMe, Lifer; Trace Adkins, Something’s Going On; La’Porsha Renae, Already All Ready; Leela James, Did It for Love; Aimee Mann, Mental Illness; Goldfrapp, Silver Eye; Body Count, Bloodlust; Charlotte OC, Carless People; Deorro, Good Evening; Gawvi, We Belong; The Mavericks, Brand New Day; Residente, Residente

For a rundown of the full music shopping list for March 31, 2017 (bold-print titles), check out the post at The Musical Hype.

Photo Credits: Reprise, Columbia, Virgin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.